BEST PLACE TO SNORKEL?

Best Place to Snorkel

Coastal Living magazine listed the top ten places to snorkel in the US, Caribbean and Central America in their July-August, 2009 issue:

1. Dean’s Blue Hole, Long Island, Bahamas
2. Buck Island, St. Croix, USVI
3. Crystal River, Florida
4. Rockhouse, Negril, Jamaica
5. Pigeon Cay, Honduras
6. Grand Cayman
7. Hol Chan Marine Reserve, Belize
8. Bimini Islands, Bahamas
9. Lover’s Cove, Catalina Island, California
10. Papalaua Wayside Park, Maui, Hawaii
http://www.coastalliving.com/travel/top-10-spots-to-snorkel-00400000047380/

WHAT ARE YOUR TOP SNORKELING SPOTS?
Most of us who have snorkeled have our favorites.  My all time favorite snorkeling experience was off the coast of Playa Blanca, Mexico on a day when every imaginable school of colored fish swam all around me.  My other top spots have been Isla Mujeres, MX, and Ixtapa Island, MX.   Additionally I have to add the Manasquan River in Point Pleasant, NJ. 

Although I wouldn’t recommend anyone consider the Manasquan River as a diving destination it is on my list because it is where I learned to snorkel at age eight.  Wearing my fins, mask and one of those snorkels with the ping-pong ball I can vividly recall seeing my first underwater creature, a crab, scurrying along the river bottom.  From then on I was afraid to stand with my feet exposed to a crab’s pinchers at that river beach.  

I am hoping to get some snorkeling in later this year and if the opportunity arises I might add scuba diving to my wish list.

You are invited to give your feedback on the list and what your favorite snorkeling/diving spots are.

Leave a comment

Filed under Beach, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

