What’s the Best Smart Phone?

NEED YOUR FEEDBACK

I am in the market for a new phone and want feedback on the best Smart Phone.  My T-Mobile contract is near expiration and I’ve got to choose my next phone and carrier.

i-Phone is the recommendation of my nineteen year old daughter.  But I’ve also heard that the i-Phone ATT network is prone to dropped calls and an overloaded network.  I see lots of emails from happy Blackberry users and the new Droid looks promising.

I’d love to hear about and to publish your views on the best Smart Phone and Network.  My preferences are:

  1. Great network connectivity.
  2. Good voice quality.
  3. Compact size.
  4. Email access.
  5. Internet Access.
  6. Ease of use.

WHAT’S YOUR VOTE ON THE BEST SMART PHONE?

Please respond with your comments and recommendations.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “What’s the Best Smart Phone?

  1. Buck's Entourage

    I’ve only had a Sprint BB and I’m happy with it.

    Have a very smart and knowledgeable buddy who’s had both a BB and i. He prefers the BB but not sure why. He’s a businessman. I’ve heard that the BB is for business and the i is more for fun and games. Probably “six of one – half-dozen of the other,” as they say.

  2. Robert Schott

    Tom,
    Me too.
    I am about to pull the trigger on the Droid with google platform, probably the motorola phone with hard qwerty. Advice was that touchpad’s get weak on sensitivity over time, and the other choice was theHTC touchpad only model. My phone guy says this platform will compete or exceed on features of i phone.

    I’ve always taken the free phone (i just make calls, right?). but now as I take on duties of my own business the connectivity with email, outside world, and ability to carry image art to show prospects and vendors is more important than before. I can finally rationalize this expense, and anything above what I currently use will be like going to the candy store. It will be hard to believe the google platform doesn’t excel, as they seem to do on all things they touch. I may do this over the holidays, so if you get other feedback to the contrary, I’ll be sure to check in with your blog.

    I have the blackberry curve through my day job, but it’s email and internet only, no phone service, photo service or other gee whiz stuff. Very reliable and no complaints for what it is.

  3. Depends on what you want – Hard keyboard? For business? Internet? etc.

    My personal choice is iPhone – new updates are imminent, with an update to v3 very soon, and v4 soon after. Rumors have it that it will probably break exclusivity with at&t and expand to Tmobile in 2010. Some say Verizon is on the horizon, but there are conflicting reports about that – Verizon phones have to be built specifically for use on their network, which I’m not a big fan of, but there are rumors that a Verizon version of the iPhone is in negotiations too. Nevertheless, the iPhone will be available on multiple carriers soon. For me, this is the epitome of greatness – phone, media storage, web browser, camera, camcorder, gaming system, and thousands of great apps to choose from, plus a huge screen and excellent multitouch & movement tech.

    I’ve heard Droid is good if you want Verizon, but is said to be second to iPhone. Google is supposedly releasing a new phone in the coming months, built and maintained specifically by them, for use on any carrier. Should be stiff competition for Apple, so you may want to wait for that if you’re not into the iPhone.

    • Thanks for the feedback and the info about i Phone possibly expanding networks and Google’s upcoming release. ATT connectivity does not have a good reputation in S CA so location probably affects quality.
      Tom

  4. Vern Deckert

    I have an iPhone 3g, about one year old. I can’t recommend it. Functionality has been great, but it was rendered useless for a few weeks by a recent software update. There was never a word of warning or apology from the company during that time. Thousands of angry customers and only silence. When you pay $600 for a smartphone, you are buying a relationship with a company as well as a product. I have serious concerns about the Apple company. I would recommend you look at the Droid. I haven’t used one, but I have much reason to respect the Motorola company.

  5. Vicki

    I absolutely love my iPhone. Have had it for 1 year & only 1 dropped call which occurred right after I bought it and none since. My phone was not rendered useless at any time with the upgrade.

    • Vicki

      Added note: My company offers discounts on both
      BB & iPhone now and many executives are switching to iPhone. It’s not as compact in size as BB.

  6. Marilyn

    I love my iPhone. I do have calls dropped but it doesn’t diminish my phone contentedness. The email access is pretty awesome, as are the desktop applications. No complaints about the Voice quality, and the size works great for me.

Leave a Reply

