UPS DELIVERED NEW TOY TODAY- NIKON D7000

Tom Irwin, 1st day with new D7000

TRADED UP- THIRD CAMERA THIS YEAR

Since March, 2011 I’ve snapped a lot of pics as my long lost hobby of photography returned.  Along the way, as I gained experience and upgraded cameras and equipment.

Decades ago I shot 35mm slide film with a Konica FT-1 Single Lens Reflex camera and a bag of lenses.  Actually I started with a Konica Auto S-2 range finder and migrated to a Konica Autoreflex T-2 SLR before getting the FT-1 motor-drive SLR.  But the death of film in the late 1990’s and birth of digital transitioned me to simpler Point & Shoot photography by 2002.  Most of us went through a few of the little digital pocket cameras.  With their 3X zooms they were convenient but not as capable nor nearly as much fun as my old bag of 35mm film gear.

BETTER TECHNOLOGY, MORE FUN

Last March I bought a Nikon S8100, a new breed of Point & Shoot cameras that puts a 30mm-300mm wide angle to zoom lens into a pocket size camera that also shoots 1080p Hi-Def video with stereo sound.  The S8100 brought back the fun of photography.

The fun got better in May when I traded up to a Nikon D3100 DSLR.  With two zoom lenses and a 35mm prime lens I was getting photos that were light years beyond anything I’d achieved shooting Kodachrome 25 and 64 slide film with my old Konica FT-1 SLR .

LENSES MAKE THE DIFFERENCE

With a renewed interest I bought some speed light flashes & lighting equipment as well as replaced my two initial zoom lenses.  The lens upgrades really demonstrated that it’s the lens that impacts image quality more than the choice of camera.

Although I was getting great image quality with my Nikon D3100 I found as my experience grew so did my interest in an even better camera.  Craigslist helped me unload my Nikon D3100 along with a couple of lenses I’d already upgraded.

NEW GEAR, MORE TO LEARN

My latest and perhaps final camera improvement for the time being is a new Nikon D7000 DSLR delivered by UPS today.  My gear now consists of:

  • Nikon D7000 and four lenses:
  • Nikon 18-105mm
  • Nikon 70-300mm
  • Nikon 35mm
  • Nikon 50mm
  • Nikon SB-700 flash, Yongnuo YN-467 flash and Neewer TT560 flash
  • Portable studio setup with three umbrella tripods, reflector & radio triggers

I’ve now got enough stuff to qualify as an official camera geek.  To help figure out how to use the new camera I got David Busch’s 500 page Nikon 7000 Guide t Digital SLR Photography.

Say “CHEESE.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Nikon D7000

Leave a Reply

