New Nikon 50mm f/1.8G Portrait Lens

Lens on camera in photo is not the 50mm lens I just ordered

JUST ORDERED A NEW PORTRAT LENS

This past year I’ve experienced a lot of enjoyment on my journey to better photography.  Along the way I’ve tried out a variety of different cameras and lenses to shoot everything from action to landscapes, portraits and people.  It’s a good thing that we’re no longer paying for film and processing because I’ve snapped thousands of pictures that are stored on my 2 TB HD.

IT’S ABOUT THE LENS, NOT THE CAMERA

Initially my interest in equipment focused on the quality of different camera brands and models.  This was likely due to having seen the wide difference in image quality from various Point & Shoot cameras.  But as I viewed the image quality of consumer DSLR cameras (APS-C crop sensor cameras) I found the results among brands and models to be almost indistinguishable.  That’s not to say that cameras don’t improve as the technology progresses.  But at a point in time most of the models share similar sensor technology.  However, changing lenses to capture different situations does make a difference, a big difference.

Nikon 50 mm f/1.8 G

Currently I’m working on getting better portraits and although I’m getting decent results with my existing lenses I’ve decided to upgrade with a new 50mm prime (no zoom) lens.  A 50mm lens on an APS-C camera translates to a nice portrait perspective of 75mm.  This lens gets great reviews for sharpness, color and background so I’m pretty excited to see what I can do with it.  It should arrive next week.

As sort of an exercise in practicing blogging I started another site for reviewing tech gear that I have experience with.  Although I plan to cover various products to date I’ve put up one review on the best bang for your buck camera.  The site is called Street Level Reviews–     http://streetlevelreviews.wordpress.com/2012/03/25/nikon-d3100/

May 01, 2012 UPDATE on new 50mm f/1.8 G lens

Last weekend I took my new lens along with other lenses to do a photo shoot at a fashion show.  I’m not a professional and haven’t done this type of photography before so it was a valuable learning experience.  It was also an opportunity to compare photos from my new lens to what I’ve already got.

The images this relatively inexpensive lens produced are absolutely amazing.  The colors, sharpness, contrast and background took my results to a new level.  I’m very happy with this new addition to my camera bag.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

