EXPERIMENTING WITH COMPOSITE PHOTOGRAPHY

Mark Irwin

Mark Irwin

Joel Grimes is a well known photographer of celebrities, athletes and musicians. He has developed a unique style of composite photography in urban backdrops that I’ve decided to emulate.
My first try is a composite of my son Mark set in a stitched image of the Refinery at Saddleback Church in Lake Forest. My stitching is five vertical images of the building with each of the five shots bracketed +2/-2. Lighting is the key to Joel’s work and this 18 month old shot of Mark was not lit according to Joel’s recipe. Joel back lights his subjects to give his images a three dimensional look. When I get to novice level with the lighting I’ll post some more of my experiment.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

