TARGET MISSES THE TARGET ON PRICING HONESTY

target

TARGET’S TWO TIER PRICING REQUIRES YOU ASK FOR THE BEST PRICE

Yesterday I was searching online for a beanbag chair for a photo shoot and found one called the Pillowfort for $31.99 at Target.    Called the local Target store for availability, gave them the DPCI number: 249-20-1343 and was told I’d have to drive to the next town where they had three in stock.

Drove to the store they directed me to, found the item and went through checkout to find it was not $31.99 but $39.99.  Thinking the pricing discrepancy might be my error I paid the $39.99.

I later rechecked their posted price and found it was in fact $31.99, not the twenty five percent higher price I was charged for at their checkout.

Not happy with being ripped off I took the beanbag back to the store and was told the customer must ask for the lower price otherwise they can charge more.  The return clerk became rude when I challenged the policy of requiring shoppers to ask if there is a better price.  In fact, she told me I was being rude for objecting to this pricing ripoff.

Finding this hard to believe I asked for the manager who told me that they do have posted prices for Internet shoppers that are not automatically found in the store.  Mind you, this is not Amazon Internet pricing where you push the button and the product is shipped to your front door.  This is Target Internet pricing where the shopper needs to drive to the store, find the product, checkout and drive home again. 

And for this they have a two tier price to overcharge where they can.

It will be a long time before I visit Target again for anything.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

